20th Century Women

20th Century Women

DVD - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
36
1
The story of three women who explore love and freedom in Southern California during the late 1970s.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
richibi
Oct 26, 2019

Annette Bening is amazing, but that's it

i
INVS
Oct 06, 2019

Good cast, but I kept wondering why am I staying with this...maybe it will come together for me. It didn't. I didn't recognize anything I know anything about, despite living some similarities. AB was so herself.....

j
johnnyknuckles
Feb 13, 2019

I am almost exactly the same age as the screenwriter-director Mike Mills, & thus almost exactly the same age as the kid protagonist in this film. I was really hoping for something that captured a little of the ineffable nature of being young in that time period of the late 70's/early 80's, but this film aint it, unfortunately. I found the screenplay pedestrian & the acting underwhelming. Overall disappointing--I actually turned it off midway thru.

The only film I can think of that sort of captures that post-BabyBoom early GenX time in life & history is Wes Anderson's Moonrise Kingdom. The timing is a bit displaced tho--he's writing about his own childhood of the 70's (born in 1969), but he sets it in the 60's instead. Still, to my mind it definitely reflects his genX perspective & captures the ineffable freedom & beauty of being a kid in the late 70's/early 80's. Complete with cinematography that echoes the golden hue of 1970's photographs & a colour palette in 1970's harvest gold-orange-brown.

American Hustle was also a great snapshot of the late70's/early 80's, tho obviously the focus was on the free-wheeling adult world of that period.

If anyone has any recommendations for films about being young post-BabyBoom (ie a kid in the 70's & early 80's), I'd love to hear them. Not films made at the time (Brat Pack-ish stuff or earlier), but films made later about that period.

t
twotracks
Jan 08, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Although i would not recommend it to most people, as there are no superheros and thinking may be required. The film is not predictable, and has many thoughtful things to say about how children are raised...and the bond between mother and child. I would have enjoyed hanging out with the people in this film...so for me it was time well spent.

e
Eggy1
Jan 07, 2019

Wow, what a lame waste of time. This movie had no central theme. It was not engaging. It was lame.
It just rambled along from one scene to the next without purpose or point,
Don’t waste your time.

g
greg0331
Dec 02, 2018

Meh. I watched this hoping after the first hour it would somehow make "sense" and maybe in some ways it did but in many others it did not. It never really went anywhere. It was like they had an idea on paper but the writers/studio/actors just never could quite get it to form into a meaningful message. In the end I felt like the only really good part of the film were the songs they chose.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Sep 19, 2018

This drama/comedy film is actually much better than I was expecting, and manages to tell the stories of multiple different types of women in the 20th century. Set in 1979 California, Dorothea is a middle-aged mother trying to raise her son Jamie on her own in the best way possible. She seeks the help of her free-spirited tenant and an angsty neighborhood teenage girl to teach her son how to be a man in times that are ever so changing and foreign. I thought that the acting was particularly impressive and that each of the actors perfectly fit into their roles. It was the right balance of drama and comedy which made it easy to follow along. I would rate this movie 4.5/5 stars and recommend it to anyone who likes period-pieces.
- @The_Reviewer of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

j
jimg2000
Jul 28, 2018

It was a progressive version of it takes a village to raise a teen boy in mellow Santa Barbara. Witty script and admirable acting jobs, particularly Bening (60 yr. old in real life) who played the 55 year old mother without any makeup throughout ... compare with Laurie Metcalf (63 yr. old in real life) played the mom in "Lady Bird." Greta Gerwig were involved in both women-centric film; a tenant in "20th Century Women" and the writer/director of Lady Bird.

g
gingin1972
Jul 22, 2018

Boring crap!

I almost gave up on this movie after the first, gruelling for me, 20 minutes. I went back to it a day later, and persevered. I'm still not sure it was worth almost an hour and a half of my life (I skipped bits and pieces everywhere. It is, I guess, a "Chick Film," and I mean this in the most neutral way. I think back to my own teenage years, which were in the late 1950s and early 1960s, and wonder how I would have reacted to having a single mother try to turn some of her child-rearing responsibilities to three unrelated individuals: a highly promiscuous teenage neighbour girl; a troubled artist; and a well-meaning Jack-of-all-trades. I will say that Annette Bening is a terrific actress. Her facial expressions convey so much of what she is thinking and feeling. By contrast, Elle Fanning, whose expression (sulky, angst-ridden) never seems to vary. Needless to say, Bening's face can only go so far.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
j
jimg2000
Jul 28, 2018

30 good quotes posted in IMDb already, thanks to the contributors. Here are two additional ones:

She was raised in the Depression, everyone helped raise everyone. You know, the whole neighborhood raised the kids.
===
Guys aren't supposed look like they're thinking about what they look like.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top