The Dollhouse

The Dollhouse

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
13
When she arrives at the famed Barbizon Hotel in 1952, Darby McLaughlin is everything her hall mates aren't: plain, self-conscious, homesick and convinced she doesn't belong. Yet when she befriends Esme, a Barbizon maid, she's introduced to an entirely new, colourful yet seedy side of New York City. Over half a century later, journalist Rose Lewin hears rumours of Darby's involvement in a deadly skirmish with a hotel maid. A perfect distraction from her own imploding personal life, Rose becomes obsessed with finding the truth about what really happened at the hotel.
Publisher: New York : Dutton, ©2016.
ISBN: 9781101984994
Characteristics: 289 pages ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
bibliomum
Sep 06, 2018

A real page-turner! Such great descriptions of NYC in the 1950s.

j
Janemaidment
Sep 01, 2018

A very compelling read. Wonderful detail of New York currently and back in the 1950's. Interesting twist near the end.

b
behere
Jan 19, 2018

A book I could not put down. What I especially liked is Darby contrasting reporting a story via just words to a story with words and images. Also, watching Darby mature in her view of independence and love interests was heart-warming.

m
Mmc0119
Dec 14, 2017

I agree, a really great book. Like Davis's other story this one takes two stories and finds the link between these women. However, unlike her past one this one was not nearly as predictable. I love stories that have female characters as the protagonists, where I can relate. Additionally, the two different time lines weaving historical buildings and reality is beautifully done.

w
weezie1
Oct 09, 2017

A great book! It has a wonderful story line and I love to read about the 1950's activities taken on by the ladies of those era. I was a great book to take on vacation and have some down time to enjoy the adventures. The journalist and her partner at work was a great mix. Oct 2017

r
reader7176
Jul 20, 2017

Really good book for first time author Fiona Davis, I have read books before that had young women living in Barbizon Hotel for Women. It really interested me to learn the background of the Barbizon Hotel and the lives of the women who lived there. A well written and entertaining book. Look forward to more from this author.

ArapahoeKathy May 26, 2017

This quick read is set in 1952 New York City Barbizon Hotel for Women and 2016 Barbizon turned Condos. The story, setting and historical details makes this book come alive and tells the story of women many would overlook.

m
MHanover10
Mar 16, 2017

I loved this book! It was such a fascinating story! I remember reading about the rooming houses in New York where women could go and there were set rules they had to follow. I didn't know this one was famous with several famous people living there like Sylvia Plath (one month) and Liza Minelli. I liked how the story went back in time to 1952 when things were actually happening to 2016 with Rose doing research for her article. The ending did have a twist and then another twist. This was so well worth my time!

martha_w Mar 05, 2017

I wanted to love this, but I couldn't manage it. This is a dual-timeline story, with alternating chapters from 1952 and 2016, in which the characters in the present uncover the details of a mystery from the past. And I won't deny that the way Davis structured this book was clever; you never doubt that she knows exactly what she's doing, every step of the way. However--HOWEVER. The main character in the present, Rose, sincerely acts like a lunatic for much of this book, and it got hard to read about by the end. Davis' writing style is pretty workmanlike, too -- there's no sparkle to really draw you into the prose itself. I'd recommend this as a readalike for fans of Beatriz William's and Lauren Willig's books, with the caveat that, while Davis has a knack for plotting, she's not as skilled a writer as either of those other two authors.

d
D061145902
Feb 28, 2017

I loved this book. It was interesting to read this after I read The Girl Before. Both books deal with women who live in the present and in the past and have a mysterious building in their stories. Read both.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top