The Art of Not Having It All

The Art of Not Having It All

True Stories of Men, Sex, and Other Disasters

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
A hilarious guide to not having it all, with vague instructions on what to do when you've dropped all the balls you ought to have kept in the air, perfect for fans of Caitlin Moran Does an exciting weekend for you mean scrubbing all the grouting in your bathroom with a toothbrush? Do you ponder marrying the Albanian builder who has just fitted alcove shelving because he's brought you more happiness in three days than your useless ex-boyfriend brought you in three years? Do you write to-do lists that need paginating, and include items such as "re-mortgage house, get pregnant, climb Kilimanjaro"? Welcome to Melissa Kite's life. If you answered yes to two or more of these questions, clearly you too are a desperate single woman trying to survive in the modern world. If not, congratulations: you will have a good laugh reading this book. When Melissa first started writing a column in the Spectator magazine, she had no idea there was anyone else out there remotely like her. Nearly every other woman she knew seemed to be heroically juggling work and family life. By contrast, Melissa felt as though, in the fluttering mass of yellow Post-it notes on her fridge there was one that read, "Don't forget to get married and have kids," which had got covered in shopping lists, dry-cleaner receipts and waste collection schedules. In this hilarious, poignant memoir, Melissa details her adventures in not having it all, from her epic struggle to free a chubby angelfish which wedged itself in a plastic log, to her escape from a French holiday with her boyfriend gone terribly wrong.
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, ♭2015.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
ISBN: 9781250055149
1250055148
Characteristics: 278 pages ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
lilypad_1
May 12, 2020

I only read half of this and it was during the quarantine when I was desparate for something to read!

w
what_is_a_kindle
Sep 25, 2018

Full disclosure, I only read half. But what even is this? This is the most unrelatable story about a rich woman. What she was serving.. I was not here for it. Next!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top