You Go First

You Go First

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
2

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First is an engaging exploration of family, bullying, spelling, art, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Her perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale.

Twelve-year-old Charlotte Lockard and eleven-year-old Ben Boxer are separated by more than a thousand miles. On the surface, their lives seem vastly different--Charlotte lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, while Ben is in the small town of Lanester, Louisiana. Charlotte wants to be a geologist and keeps a rock collection in her room. Ben is obsessed with Harry Potter, presidential history, and recycling. But the two have more in common than they think. They're both highly gifted. They're both experiencing family turmoil. And they both sit alone at lunch.

Over the course of a week, Charlotte and Ben--online friends connected only by a Scrabble game--will intersect in unexpected ways, as they struggle to navigate the turmoil of middle school. This engaging story about growing up and finding your place in the world by the Newbery Medal-winning author of Hello, Universe and the winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature will appeal to fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Publisher: New York : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062414182
Characteristics: 288 pages :,illustrations ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
darladoodles
Jul 31, 2018

This book has so much potential to help struggling middle school students. For kids like Charlotte and Ben, it can feel like they have been left behind. Like the rug has been pulled out from under them and they are in a foreign country. You Go First deals with bullying, illness in the family, divorce, friendship and so much more. I heartily recommend it as a read aloud.

b
blue_dog_36440
Jun 21, 2018

This book is FABULOUS! It's a great story of friendship. As well as Erin Entrada Kelly's other books, I couldn't put it down.

epowell13 May 17, 2018

Wow, this book tugged on my heartstrings Erin Entrada Kelly mastered that particular ache that middle school brings. These amazing characters will stick with you. It touches on some of the same topics as her past books: social ostracisation, bullying, friendship, etc. I enjoyed the facts at the beginning of Charlotte's chapters, the dictionary definitions at the beginning of each section that related to the story, and the integration of nerdy science trivia. Hand this one to kids also feeling the ache of middle school or readers who enjoy character driven stories.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

b
blue_dog_36440
Jun 21, 2018

blue_dog_36440 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 6 and 11

l
likeyin
May 05, 2018

likeyin thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 6 and 10

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top